Oulipost, Day 21 – Confabulation

The task?  Using quotes from your paper, construct a conversation between two or more people.  Oh, gosh, I actually loved doing this one.  It took forever, but I felt like the prior cento work we’ve done here had really prepared me, and I definitely was able to transform the material.  By the way – the funnies? 100% quotes, everything.  I totally used those.  Misky has a really fun confabulation, here.  You can see the crazy conversations of other Ouliposters at the Found Poetry Review.

Phone Conversation 15 Years After Our Divorce

or

A Couple of Stitches, But a Long Way from the Heart

Look who the wind blew in –

I’m right here, right now.
It’s been too long already.

Well, there are a lot
worse places to be.

It’s important for us to
really grasp what we did –

– the way we grasped and clawed –

You don’t forget.

I was embarrassed, I was
hurt. It’s another thing to
learn it from the other side.

It was an error, a stupid mistake.

Then I went crazy. I just
tried to protect myself,
really bottle that up.

We talked about this – we knew
we could be better than we were.

I was probably a bit premature.

It happened, you know?
It happened. I’m amazed
it has not come out until now.

I guess, to tell you the truth,
I didn’t think we were very good.

As poor as we were,
I thought we got it
right where we wanted it.

And here we are, 15 years later.
I have a better idea.

It’s “us”, it’s “we”.

I think we’ve got to stay
out of  the nonsense; we’re just
going to try to stay patient.

I don’t know how to feel –
grateful? thankful? It’s an anxious time.

Take a deep breath honey,
and slow down.  Take all
the time you need.

There’s going to be some
ebb and flow. We have
to remain patient to that.

I think that’s important.

I think it’s finally starting to set in.
We are not alone.  We have just now
begun to understand what we can do.

We’ll soon find out.

Oh, I’m counting on it.

That always brings me
a little bit of comfort to me.
Sleep fast.

Sleep fast.

Bibliography, Boston Globe, April 21, 2014

Abraham, Peter. Napoli meeting goal

Abraham, Peter. Red Sox rally for wild walk off victory

Adams, Scott. Dilbert

Associated Press. After brawl, Brewers win in the 14th

Associated press. Kuchar chips in for the title

Billingsley, Ray. Curtis

Bliss, Harry. Bliss

Bombardieri, Marcella; Miller, Joshua; Sampson, Zachary. Resolute and ready

Cappiello, Dina. Corn-waste fuels no better than gas, study says

Cramer, Maria. Detective forced to retire 14 years after injury

Fox, Jeremy C. Father believes others helped dispose of boy’s body

Gaitan, Catalina. Visually impaired runner to be guided by radio show host

Graham, Jennifer. Even tutus have a place in the race

Johnson, Akilah. 3 in contest for governor striving hard for visibility

Mallett, Jeff. Frazz

Marrapese-Burrel, Nancy. Flustered Detroit needs to address identity crisis

Marrapese-Burrel, Nancy. In Game 2, problems weren’t limited to special teams

Murphy, Shelley. Hopkinton spruces up for Marathon’s crucial first steps

Pierce, Lincoln. Big Nate

Powers, John. Fast field has really come together here

Shaughnessy, Dan. When needed, they brought out their Sunday best

Shinzawa, Fluto. Lucic benefitted from a stick shift

Tziperman Lotan, Gal. Outdoor church invites homeless in

Vega, Michael. Rough spots cleared by bullpen’s clean work

Weintraub, Karen. 1 in 20 adult outpatients misdiagnosed, study reports

6 thoughts on “Oulipost, Day 21 – Confabulation

  1. Pingback: Oulipost Round-Up #3 | Choose Your Own Adventure

Leave a Reply

