Oulipost, Day 6 – Blank Verse Amidst the Prose

So, this one is giving me hissy fits.    “Blank Verse”, also known as iambic pentameter (the sort without end rhymes, though), ought to be easy – right?  I mean, doesn’t every fourth grader master iambic pentameter?  Isn’t this as easy as breathing, for heaven’s sake?  Well, writing iambic pentameter is one thing – daDUM daDUM daDUM daDUM daDUM.  Actually finding it in the newspaper is another matter entirely.  I only managed a quartrain before sanity insisted that I call it good. For the most part I lifted entire phrases, but I did erase, and once remix, as the line required to meet the meter. Sort of meet the meter – iambic, yes; pentameter not always. And while I did not actually end rhyme my B lines, they are slant rhymed; I couldn’t help myself.
See the free-ranging blank verse (and thoughtful show of work) by Ouliposter Amanda Earl, and explore the found blank verse of the other Ouliposters at the Found Poetry Review!

 

Soldiers

Lull in war brings a calm that’s deceptive.
They’ve given up living abroad.
These are heroes and yet they have problems;
they are raging as fiercely as shock.

 

Boston Globe, April 6, 2014

Barnard, Anne. Lull in Syrian war brings a calm that may be deceptive
Bombardieri, Marcella. New college math: three and out
Faiola, Anthony. Social conservatives in france may be brewing own tea party
Healy, Jack; Kovaleski, Serge F. As wars wind down, soldiers return with new anxieties

 

Leave a Reply

